Miami Foodie

Bacon Explosion

Posted on: April 5, 2009

I was at the Internet Marketers Spring Break Party in Deerfield Beach this past Friday night, when I was introduced to the Bacon Explosion for the first time (shame on me for considering myself a foodie, being out of the loop on this one).

Bacon Explosion

Bacon Explosion

What is the Bacon Explosion, you may ask? For those as out of the know as I am, the Bacon Explosion is “about $20 worth of bacon and Italian sausage from a local meat market. As it lay on the counter, he thought of weaving strips of raw bacon into a mat. The two spackled the bacon mat with a layer of sausage, covered that with a crunchy layer of cooked bacon, and rolled it up tight” – quoted from the New York Times.

Aaron Chronister, a co-inventor of this culinary coronary-unfriendly creation, was whipping up one of these mega meatloafs at a IMSpringBreak dinner, weaving his bacon and sausage masterpiece.

This smoking mound of meat has been quite the culinary buzz, exploding throughout the internet, making its way onto NYTimes, CNN, Fox, Good Morning America and Telegraph.co.uk, just to name a few…

So gear up, pop your lipitor, and claim your carnivorous title with the infamous Bacon Explosion!

4 Responses to "Bacon Explosion"

Hahaha!! I never heard from that!! Lovely!!

I find that hilarious! I think I am going to go try a “bacon explosion” at my local meat market in the near future, as I do love bacon and Italian sausage. Together? That is another lovely story entirely!

I did a post on this a few weeks back myself (found entirely by accident on another blog, so I was out of the know, too). I was absolutely entranced by this heart attack delight! I plan on making on this summer – too good to pass up! The blog that I found this on (jason’s bbq adventures, I think) added pepper jack cheese to the one they made…yum! I’m going to add mushrooms to mine!

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Delicious

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

